Fall for a healthy treat

One of my favorite dishes to make in fall is both healthy and dessert-y, an apple crisp.  I love to eat it all week long for breakfast with a spoon or two of greek yogurt on top. And then later for a snack.  and maybe for dessert too–ooh it’s just so delish!  I found a super easy recipe in my Clean Eating book and I’ve modified it just a touch for my taste or whatever I have in the pantry.  Today I used 4 or 5 pink lady apples, sliced them with my handy dandy apple slicer gadget, drizzled about 1/2 C real maple syrup on, lots of dashes of cinnamon and mixed it all up and dumped into a baking dish.

To the same bowl I just used I added about 1/2 C Oats, chopped almonds (20 or so) a few pinches whole wheat flour, more maple syrup about 1/2 C or so, and 1/2 C or so of canola oil and my secret ingred–coconut flakes mmmm. Add this topping to the apples, cover with foil and bake at 375 for 30 minutes then remove foil and bake for 20 more.

The apples are baked to perfection, still a little crispy and the dish isn’t too sweet since I didn’t add any sugar besides the syrup.  My husband who doesn’t really like desserts that much loves this dish, and it’s a good way for me to feed him his fruits like a good wifey!

Go ahead and make your own fall Apple Crisp–you will fall in love!

Recipe (from Terry Walter’s Clean Food): Preheat Oven to 375.

Filling: 12 apples cored and sliced (peeled or unpeeled), 1/4 C maple syrup, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 C dried currants, 1 tbs whole wheat pasty flour or brown rice flour. Add apples in large bowl, fold in syrup, cinnamon and currants. Sprinkle flour and fold. Spread into 9×12 baking casserole dish.

Topping: 2 C rolled oats, 1 C whole wheat flour, 1/2 C chopped walnuts, 1 tbs cinnamon, 1/2 C maple syrup, 1/2 C canola oil. Combine in same mixing bowl oats, flour, nuts and cinnamon. In separate bowl whisk syrup and oil, add to dry ingredients and mix until crumbly. Spread on apples, cover with foil and bake 30 min. Remove foil and bake 20 more min.

Please share your thoughts with me!

