Sniffle Monster

That’s what my husband adoringly calls me during my frequent allergy attacksaround this time of year, the sniffle monster.  I couldn’t sleep past 5 am or so soI made myself some tea, blew my nose, read some blogs, blew my nose,  let the dog out, blew my nose…you get the picture.  I’m not a big fan of just relying on meds for relief so I’ve decided to take charge of my sniffle monster a and try some natrual remedies.

Here’s my ideas: 1. Actually use my Netipot.

2. From Webmd: use Quercetin.  “Found in wine and many fruits and vegetables, quercetin may work as a mast cell stabilizer. It helps block the release of histamine that causes inflammation.” Hmmm, drink more wine? yes please!

3. Buy and consume local honey (yum!)

4. Plug in my humidifier at night. The mist binds to allergens in the air and makes them fall so you don’t breathe them

.  5.  Invest in an air purifier. I should have done this before I shared my bed with 2 dogs!

6. Try this steam recipe: from Natural Allergy Remedies – How to Treat Allergies Naturally – Woman’s Day–3 drops eucalyptus essential oil, 3 drops rosemary essential oil, 2 drops myrtle essential oil and 2 drops tea tree essential oil. Tent a bath towel over the saucepan (keep your face just far enough away from the steam to avoid burns) and inhale deeply for 5 to 10 minutes.

7. Lots and lots of Tea!!
Do you have any allergy remedies that work for you?

Please share your thoughts with me!

