Cheese fondue (birthday food)

I always used to teach my clients that keeping a gratefulness journal would help them have more joy in their lives. I think it’s time that I start one too because it’s so easy to get caught up in all the things going on around you and forget what really matters.  So who cares how it sounds, just be grateful for something!! Today I am thankful for mild weather as I’m taking out the trash in shorts, our home even though it’s not decorated how I would like, our health, and that we can pay the bills.

I’m also thankful for birthdays (which is complicated at the moment since ,I’m just going to say it, that I’ll be 30 in less than a year). So here’s to making new goals, letting go of old habits, and letting it be about doing more of what we love.

This weekend was special since it was Mr. Rutherford’s birthday so we slept in really late, went grocery shopping and  made fondue for his birthday meal.  (Originally we had thought about the Melting pot for dinner, but I happened to find this brand new fondue set for $5 while thrifting this week and so we saved probably $75 by making our own!) I love when I can say that:) There’s tons of recipes for fondue but we decided on the traditional one.  Mr. Rutherford is totally hooked now so I’m sure we’ll be making more asap. (Yep, those are his fancy birthday sweat pants).

Here’s the recipe I adapted (from Rachel Ray mag).  Ingredients:  1 garlic clove, 1 C dry white wine (I used Cupcake chardonnay), 1/2 lb emmentaler shredded, 1/2 lb gruyere shredded, 2 tbs cornstarch, 1 tsp brandy (I used whiskey), salt and pepper, fresh ground nutmeg, bread, fruit (I used apples and pears), & veggies (green beans & broccoli was my choice) for dipping.

1. Rub inside of a heavy pot with garlic. Add wine and bring to a simmer on medium heat.

2. In a bowl toss cheeses with cornstarch.  Gradually stir the cheese mix into the wine until melted. Pour in brandy/whiskey and cook until it is gently bubbling, stir, about 2 minutes.  Add your seasoning.

3. Transfer to the fondue pot and Enjoy immensely!  That was so much fun, I can’t wait to make it again:)

2 thoughts on “Cheese fondue (birthday food)

  1. Pingback: Instagram: Healthy(er) choices | alittlebitjessica

Please share your thoughts with me!

