Green bean casserole, er soup.

Growing up I loved green bean casserole more than anything I can remember.  The older I got the more sophisticated the recipes got it seemed. One year, we made a gourmet version with about 5 different kinds of mushrooms.  This year, I made a new  recipe and it turned out to be more of a mushroom soup with beans (not watery but soupy) and it was so tasty that I wanted to make sure I remember how it was done.  We ate this for 3 meals this week. I think it would be good any time of year as well just saying. 

For the ingredients, I used: 1.5 pounds french green beans, uncut (you can cut them up if you like), 1 C mushrooms (just regular white ones), 1/2 yellow onion chopped, 1 tbs oil, 1 stick butter, 3 tbs flour, 1.5 C milk (I used almond milk), 2 C organic chicken broth, 1 C white cheese shredded (I used Jack for spicy flavor), salt and pepper. 

Preheat the oven to 350. 1. Saute the onions and mushrooms.  Boil green beans in water 5-7 min, drain and use ice water to cool to keep them from cooking. I skipped this step in lieu of cooking them for a shorter time ~ 5 min. 2. Melt butter in a pan, add flour, milk and broth.  Add cheese until melted.  3. Add green beans, pour into casserole dish.  Bake for 20 minutes, top with slivered almonds and bake 10-15 more minutes.  Enjoy your heart out!

Please share your thoughts with me!

