My Kitchen dilemma

Here’s my kitchen.  I fell in love with it’s openness. In fact, it was a HUGE selling point when we bought our house almost 4 years ago; that and the upstairs media room.  The fact that it hadn’t been upgraded with stone counters or stainless steel didn’t bother me. I just loved the tall ceilings, the eat-in area, the huge window seat, the fluidity into the living area and the amount of cabinet storage space.  Oh, and the built in spice rack in the pantry.

What I don’t love is the cabinetry color, the hardware, and the countertops (and that big ugly light fixture).  But, since we can’t afford a $30,000 reno I’ve decided to give my kitchen the easiest cosmetic treatment.  Paint, paint, paint!  What a magical thing.  The thought really does make me a little giddy inside.  I’ve already repainted our kitchen table and chairs a bright white and I love the look of a black and white kitchen.  It’s clean and modern and unfussy.

That brings me to the dilemma.  And it’s really not that bad.  I just sometimes have a problem making the final decision.  I love this look below in Ms. Paltrow’s kitchen of all black cabinets with lighter counters.  I also love the open (glass front? I can’t tell, whatever) cabinets on top. I love am obssessed with dishes so it’d be fun to see them all without having to open the doors.

 or do I go with this one with the amazing floors below(can I paint tile?)

or do I paint the upper cabinets white, lower ones black like this modern look above? or do I remove the doors, paint the shelves white, and paint the lower black like this below?

I’m kind of favoring the last idea. It would be a complete change. I wouldn’t have to buy hardware for all the cabinets and it looks so sunny and open and cheerful.  Right now our walls are grey and I will probably leave them for now so it would be a black, white and grey kitchen.  Do you favor any of these over another?  I’ll keep thinking on this but I’d like to get it started in the next couple of weeks!  Well, I’m off to lunch with the husband;)  Have a good afternoon ya’ll!

7 thoughts on “My Kitchen dilemma

  1. I swear we are always on the same wave length. We are re-doing our kitchen in the spring. New wall color, painting the cabinets and re-doing the counter tops. I have great tutorials for the cabinets if you would like me to send them to you. 🙂

    Knowing your guys style — here would be my suggestions. I would go white on top and black on the bottom. I would leave the doors off of the cabinets above the dishwasher and microwave. I think it would look awesome open with all the variety of stem ware and plates you have collected.

    Personally, I would not paint the floor. The dogs would chips it like no other. Can’t wait to see what you decide on! 🙂

    • Omg, how funny! Can’t wait to see what you guys do! Yes, would love any tutorials you think are good, I usually jump right in and forget some things which could be really bad when doing cabinets!! THanks for the suggestion, just what I was thinking too;)

  2. I forgot to add. Changing light fixtures is easy. Don’t be afraid to go for it. We have changed all of ours with the exception of the fan. We had someone come out and do that. We didn’t have the box needed for it.

Please share your thoughts with me!

