Make a snow globe

DSC_0001 DSC_0004 DSC_0010 DSC_0016 DSC_0022 DSC_0038When I was a kid I really wanted to collect snow globes. I was mesmerized by the ones sold at the Disney store with all the princesses and the Lion king characters.  My first snow globe was a pair of doves that my dad gave me and it’s the only one I still remember and loved.  This project brought me back a little to that kid in me (as do so many memorable moments in life, right?).

I used mostly things I had around the house: Mason/salsa jars, a couple Christmassy figurines I had, hot glue gun, Mod podge, paint brush. Things I bought were glitter and 2 small Xmas trees from the craft store.

1. First I hot glued my figurines onto the lids of the jars.  2. I added more gobs of glue around the base of the figurines on the lid and on the trees to look like snow- then sprinkled glitter on top for  a fresh snow-fall look.  3. I painted the inside bottom of the jars with mod podge then sprinkled glitter inside and let dry.  4.  Screwed the lids on the jars carefully. You could paint your lids a holiday color like gold or white or red too:)  Hint*  I chose not to add water to my snow globes because I have animals who like to knock things over and felt it could lead to a disaster.  If you want to add water to yours make sure to soak or bleach any fake trees prior because it can turn your water green, yuk!  5. Aren’t they just precious little snow globes? I’m super happy how they turned out:)

2 thoughts on “Make a snow globe

  1. I love snow globes too! We don’t have any right now because I would not like them broken. When the little one is older — maybe. 🙂 These might work though since they have no water.

Please share your thoughts with me!

