Lime & cherry shortbread cookies

DSC_0022
I’m not the most experience baker in the world and the Mr. isn’t really a sweets kind of guy; I didn’t even make him a cake for his birthday this year.  In the spirit of the holidays I wanted to try some recipes and make some homemade goodies to send to those I won’t be able to spend the holidays with this year.  Besides, I  never said I don’t like sweets;)
DSC_0039

Ingredients: 1 C butter, softened//3/4 C confectioners’ sugar//1 Tbs grated lime peel//2 tsp. vanilla extract//1/2 tsp almond extract//2 C all purpose flour//1/4 tsp baking powder//1/8 tsp salt//1/2 C dried cherries
cherry shortbreads

1. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until blended. Beat in lime peel and extracts. In another bowl mix up the flour, baking powder and salt and gradually beat it into the creamed mixture. Stir in cherries.DSC_0035
2. Divide your dough in half and shape it into a 7 inch long roll. Wrap it up in plastic and refrigerate for 3-4 hours or until firm.limecherrycookies

3. Unwrap and cut the dough into 1/4 inch slices or rounds. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake a 350 for 10 minutes. Remove and let them cool on a wire rack.   These are really quite good. I love that they’re not too sweet and the lime and cherries give it a nice tartness.  DSC_0026
The hazards of cooking with animals around. Oh, sigh smile and laugh it off.  What have you been baking lately, any holiday goodies?

17 thoughts on “Lime & cherry shortbread cookies

  1. These look yummy! The little one and I are baking banana cake tomorrow to deliver to two different families along with the dinner we are bringing them. On Sunday when Jason gets home, we are making cookies for Santa. 🙂

  2. Jessica–these cookies were such a hit with the adults at the cookie exchange (not enough chocolate for the children!). They were the talk of the night–“I’m a cookie snob and I even liked these” “Ooo, what about making it with orange zest?” “I want the recipe!” So I think these will forever be my go-to cookies! Thanks! Is this an original recipe? I really think you should enter the recipe, if it has never been published before (not sure if it is “published” if it appears on a blog), for the cookie contest at Belle Grove Plantation B&B http://virginiaplantation.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/cookie-contest-2013/
    Good luck!

    • I’m so glad they were a favorite! How fun! I actually found the recipe in a taste of home or some magazine and just replaced white with whole wheat flour. Once I make a recipe I’ll play with it and try new things, so I’ll keep that contest in mind, thanks for the tip!

Please share your thoughts with me!

