Ginger pecan snowball cookies

gingersnowballsI’m getting really into baking right now; I want to find that recipe that I can pass on to my kids and that they’ll want to pass on too.  Maybe it doesn’t work like that though, you can’t plan on everything; but it’s nice to think about.  When I was a kid my mom made snowball cookies like these and they were my favorite holiday cookie.  This recipe (from Taste of home mag) adds a little ginger which I love. Here’s what I used:

DSC_0005

Ingredients: 1 C butter, softened// 3/4 C + 1.5 C confectioner’s sugar, divided// 2 tsp grated lemon peel// 2 tsp lemon extract// 2 1/4 C cake flour// 1 C chopped macadamia nuts (I used pecans)// 1 C chopped crystallized ginger (hint*don’t buy it from the spice section–it’s way more $–you can find in nuts area)

DSC_0007

1. In a large bowl, cream the butter and 3/4 C confectioner’s sugar until it’s blended. Beat in lemon peel and extract. Gradually beat in the flour into the creamed mixture. Stir in nuts and ginger. Refrigerate for 1 hour or until it’s easy to handle (hint*mine was REALLY crumbly and not easy to handle so I added a sprinkle of water to help shape the cookies)

2. Shape the dough into 1 inch balls and place 2 inches apart on a parchment paper lined baking sheets. Bake 15 minutes at 350.

3. Roll warm cookies in confectioner’s sugar and let cool on wire racks. When cooled roll them again in the conf. sugar.  You’re done!  Yummy holiday cookies!

DSC_0008

Please share your thoughts with me!

