Detox Ingredient: Parsley + Fire cider recipe

IMG_4585
IMG_4582DSC_0037DSC_0038When I did my cleanse a few weeks ago I learned that parsley is a super food and not just a garnish due to it’s unique components: volatile oils and flavonoids. The volatile oils help protect us from some carcinogens like those in cigarette and charcoal smoke while the flavonoids function as antioxidants protecting our cells from damage.  It is also a great source of vitamins C, A & K and the nutrients Iron and folate.  Vitamin C cancels out dangerous free radicals in the body therefore protecting us from all sorts of disease.  Vitamin A, aka beta carotene, is also an antioxidant that helps protect us from diseases like diabetes, colon cancer and arteriosclerosis (hey, I heart my heart!).

I’ve always loved parsley in tabouli but I’m going to start using it in salads, on fish, in stews and soups and in this: Fire Cider.  It’s a whole food remedy for colds and flu and helpful for allergies,  digestion, circulation and bronchitis.  I am an allergy sufferer so that is my main reason for making this.  The fire cider is incredibly tart and I only eat a spoonful once-twice daily.  I also eat it on salads as a vinaigrette with some olive oil.  Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients: apple cider vinegar (preferably organic)// 3 tbs horseradish root// 3 tbs grated/peeled ginger// one head garlic// small onion// 3 tbs fresh parsley// 1 C organic beets.

1. Blend all ingredients and pour into a jar.  Pour the apple cider vinegar to the top of the jar.  Label with the date  2. Refridgerate for 2-4 weeks and do not open it!  You can strain out the liquid and bottle it for use or I just use it all because it’s so good!  Be careful though if you have heartburn or stomach issues or take blood thinners because it might exacerbate these problems.  To our health!

If you want more info on fire cider and parsley, check out these sites:

http://www.herbaleducation.net/recipe-fire-cider.php (a little nutritional info + recipe)

http://www.food.com/recipe/Fire-Cider-Remedy-for-Cold-Flu-111755 (Fire cider recipe-not the one I used, but the main ingredients are similar)

http://www.delightedmomma.com/2012/11/how-to-make-fire-cider-all-natural-cold.html (this lovely blog is where I first learned of Fire cider)

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=100 (this site is great to learn all about the nutritional content of food, love it)

http://recipes.search.yahoo.com/search?p=parsely (tons of recipes that have parsley)

5 thoughts on “Detox Ingredient: Parsley + Fire cider recipe

  1. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Hi, sure! I’m using the wordpress theme Adelle and am really liking it. I’ve changed it several times since starting the blog but I really like this layout and look. I’m really awful with computer techy stuff but they’ve made it pretty easy to become a blogger so far! Feel free to ask me any other questions you have and I’ll try to help! Thanks for checking mine out and good luck on starting up!

  2. Pingback: Instagram: Healthy(er) choices | alittlebitjessica

Please share your thoughts with me!

