Happy News

So Big announcement today you guys, I’m prego!  We told close family on my visit home when I was 9 weeks; (Actually, true story, they pretty much guessed when I didn’t have any wine at dinner with my parents or at my sister’s shower; so observant they are, I haven’t got a tricky bone in my body ya’ll)!  My hubby wasn’t able to come with me due to his work but he called his family the same day and everyone seemed really happy for us.  I’m 20 weeks in 2 days and we are excited to find out the sex this month (fingers way crossed!).

Everything has gone really well, no sickness at all, just some nassau associated with smells (mostly feet, dog breath, eggs, the thought of raw chicken), heartburn, aversion to healthy foods like salad and green things (I’ve been eating broccoli and cucumbers lately tho), fatigue, and the emotional ups and downs (I teared up watching the Maury show, certain commercials, and a little during the movie Gravity which is seriously amazing).  I pretty much could live on breads, pasta, potatoes, cheese, skittles, pie and ice cream/yogurt for the next 5 months but I try to eat lots of protein too.  I’ve gained 4 pounds so far but I had previously gained like 10 since we got married but a friend told me that weight doesn’t count, humph.  I read for my pre-pregnant BMI I can gain the typical amount of 25-35 pounds.  I’m not trying to gain weight, I’m just waiting for it to happen and I’m totally surprised it hasn’t just piled on just yet due to my new diet. I do exercise when I feel like it, walking our dogs, yoga 1-2 times weekly, and sometimes I weight train with my husband. Otherwise, I’m just enjoying everything that my body is doing and reading a lot.  Since we’re seeing a midwife and planning a drug/intervention-free birth I’m reading tons of birth stories (this blog) and books written by midwives.

My husband and I are simply ecstatic about starting a family together and begin this amazing new journey.  xo Jessica

IMG_9620 IMG_9624

4 thoughts on “Happy News

Please share your thoughts with me!

