Decoupaged console table

These pictures are pretty horrible but I did a project to makeover our console table in the living room.  It’s just an Ikea table that was a light wood color that blended with our floors and was pretty blah. I tried painting the drawer but didn’t like it so I decided to decoupage it with a faux snakeskin black and white print. It turned out pretty awesome and faux-animal print is considered a neutral “color”, have you heard that too?  I’m not super crazy about our tomato red wall anymore but I have no idea what to do with it, so for now I like this table in front of it. I recently put a bunch of pictures and candle holders on top and I like how it looks.  I keep a bunch of junk in the drawers like extra candles and I don’t even know what else.

Here’s what I used: Mod podge//scrapbook paper, about 30 sheets//paint brush.  I cut the paper into strips as large as I could and painted the back with mod podge.  I went over the edges and layered the top with one coat to protect it.  That’s it..   So far it looks like new, except a bit of wax that spilled, but it mostly scraped off without damaging the surface.  What do you think?

Have you ever decoupaged a piece of furniture?  Here’s the only before pic I could find of the console table in all it’s Ikea glory.DSC_0063IMG_8748IMG_8717IMG_0093 Photo update: Here’s what it looks like today with some of my have pictures and momentos..IMG_0094 IMG_0091

Please share your thoughts with me!

