Painted kitchen cabinets (DIY)

Before: ugly colored oak + ugly chandelier + too small islandDSC_0001After: Antique white cabinets + Modern brass chandelier +Stainless island.  It does look a little more cluttered in the after shot but I feel so much more organized and everything just flows better when we’re in there.  I have storage under the island for things I use daily and that is just awesome. The white cabinets just feel so much more clean and open as well.  IMG_0086IMG_0085IMG_0087 IMG_0088 IMG_0089Before/During: This process started last September when my brother came to visit us and he was an amazing help. We got the entire lower island cabinets done.DSC_0004DSC_0001 Michael was awesome at the sanding but didn’t love the painting, hee hee. He would disappear for like half an hour at a time once we started painting..But, it was a lot of work, so I don’t blame him.DSC_0002 DSC_0007 DSC_0008DSC_0009 DSC_0015 painted cabinetsDSC_0020I organized the shelves to fit a set of china dishes we inherited from Ryan’s grandmother+ my cookbooks. Love it. Organizing makes me happier. So that was it. It’s a long process, we had to sand all the doors and paint 3 coats on each, but besides the tedium, it’s not hard.  I’d say it took us a good 8 days total (over 3 months) but I would do it again. It only cost us the gallon of paint and a cheap sander. We already had brushes from other projects so for about $60 we have a brand new looking kitchen that we love.  Thanks for looking, xoxojessIMG_9902

2 thoughts on “Painted kitchen cabinets (DIY)

Please share your thoughts with me!

