Nursery DIY: Felt Hot Air Balloon Mobile

IMG_0530For the nursery I want to DIY as many projects as I could for the decor and after researching mobiles I knew I didn’t want to spend $40 on buying one.  I don’t have a nursery theme but I thought with the stenciled cloud wall a hot air balloon mobile would be perfect.  I found this tutorial and mostly followed her instructions, except I used my sewing machine and not hand stitching to complete the balloons. IMG_9959 Using colorful pieces of felt I cut out 8 of these shapes per balloon. To make the balloons a bit more detailed I cut off the tops of the shape and sewed them on to one of another color.IMG_9958I used my sewing machine to stitch together the 8 pieces.IMG_9967and left an opening at the bottom on the last one to turn it inside out and stuff it with polyfil..IMG_9961IMG_9969 Once stuffed I used a small circle of felt and hand sewed it over the opening..I then used pieces of wine corks and hand sewed them on so they would hang like a basket.IMG_9972 I also sewed a couple little clouds and stuffed them..IMG_0101IMG_0104and made a tiny bunting for this balloon..IMG_9975 I used more felt to cover the piece it hangs from and hot glued the balloons to ribbon. and here’s the completed mobile! I think it turned out really cute and I just love it.  Hopefully baby R will too;) xoJessIMG_0526

Please share your thoughts with me!

